In February, 1992, Dan Haggerty of the Stark & Stark law firm and Conrad Druker of the Mercadian Group accounting firm, along with Lawrence Township School Superintendent Barry Gleim and ETS President Greg Anrig, came together in response to the growing popularity of local education foundations supplementing resources available to public schools. Their vision: bring together the many resources of Lawrence’s community for the benefit of the Lawrence Township public schools. Over the next six months relationships were made, commitments were formed, and on August 17, 1992 the Lawrence Township Education Foundation (LTEF) was officially incorporated.

With the development of a solid grant application, LTEF began funding grants in support of creative programming within the school district that otherwise was not possible within the constraints of the school budget. Greg Anrig and ETS together put the new non-profit on firm financial footing with a contribution, allowing LTEF made its first grant awards.

In 1995 The Lawrenceville School joined the efforts with an annual contribution of and in that same year, the Foundation launched its direct appeal to individual donors with the “Friends of Foundation” campaign.

Through the years LTEF has made efforts to develop and maintain numerous fundraising initiatives including the Small Business Campaign, Faculty/Staff Campaign, Friends of the Foundation Campaign, APPLE teacher recognition program, and the 180 Club, in addition to targeted grant initiatives made possible by partners like Bristol-Myers Squibb, Church and Dwight, and Janssen Pharmaceutical.

Also a founding member of the New Jersey Education Foundation Partnership, a coalition of local education foundations that seek to build capacity for private funding of public education, LTEF has received numerous honors and recognitions through the years.

Today, the Lawrence Township Education Foundation has contributed more than $3.8 million toward over 850 student and faculty programs and projects.

Past Board Presidents   
1992-1994 - Dan Haggerty
1994-1996 - Conrad Druker 
1996-1998 - Pete McDonough
1998-2000 - Martin Doggett
2000-2002 - Rick Babick 
2002-2004 - Joe Summers
2004-2006 - Betsy Kreger
2006-2008 - Theresa Wrobel 
2008-2010 - Jennifer Gardella 
2010-2012 - Patricia "Pepper" Evans 
2012-2014 - Paul Schindel
2014-2016 - Kelly Bidle
2016-2018 - Carol Katz Connelly 
2018- present - Amy Davis